Seven “New” Deadly Sins…

Do you know The Seven Deadly Sins? They are: Pride, Envy, Gluttony, Lust, Anger, Greed and Sloth. I’ve never cared too much for this list personally. It just hits a little too close to home. 😉

But if those were not enough, today’s pope has added seven new ones. Well — not real new. But new enough. How are you doing with these?

  1. “Bioethical” violations such as birth control
  2. “Morally dubious” experiments such as stem cell research
  3. Drug abuse
  4. Polluting the environment
  5. Contributing to widening divide between rich and poor
  6. Excessive wealth
  7. Creating poverty

Wow — those are some sins I can live with. At this point in my life, unless you count caffeine as drug abuse and investing in a constantly declining retirement account as creating poverty (my own future), by these new standards I am pretty fit for heaven. Oh — rats — these aren’t replacements. They are additions to the other seven. So now there are what, fourteen deadly sins.

At this rate, the only way I will get into heaven is by the grace of God. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Seven “New” Deadly Sins…

  1. The list varies depending on where you get it
    1 genetic modification
    2 human experimentations
    3 polluting the environment
    4 social injustice
    5 causing poverty
    6 financial gluttony
    7 taking drugs. didn’t actually number them but I added the number to their paragraphe

    The new sins take aim at those who undermine society in far reaching ways, (1) including by taking or dealing in drugs, (2) polluting the environment, and (3) engaging in “manipulative” genetic science, The Times of London reports.

    Also new to the list are (4) paedophilia, (5) abortion, and (6) social injustices that cause poverty or (7) “the excessive accumulation of wealth by a few”.

  2. Thank you for that clarification, Allen.

    My error is an example of what happens when one gets their news from The NY Times. 😉

    The new list seems subject to interpretation, does it not? If you take the list from the Times blogger, The National Ledger you referenced, and the New Zealand site, my math says there are almost a dozen new sins.

    Yep — the only way I will ever get into heaven is by the grace of God. (Ephesians 2:8-9)

  3. I have a question, aren’t those sins already covered in the 10 Commandments and the original list?

    I think Benedict is just worried he isn’t going to be relevant, so he came up with this.

Comments are closed.